Here’s my dress!

I found my dress right when I was getting to the good part of dress hunting. I never got to go to trunk shows, I never went to Chicago to try on the 20+ Enzoani gowns I liked, and I never got to decide if I wanted a dress with pink beading or with pleats. Here is the dress that made me stop my searching when there were so many more to try on:

Maggie Sottero dress "Rhianna Royale"

 This picture does it NO justice whatsoever. (And the model sucks balls, because this dress was made for PRETTY girls, and girls with a little more meat on their bones. For example, a size 8 would look perfect.) It is more of a slight hint as to how absolutely stunning the gown is ON your body. I have the Maggie Sottero Rhianna Royale in the light gold and champagne. The flower applique did me in. Unfortunately shoe hunting is even harder now because of this color, and even though I could have gotten it in white, which is equally beautiful, the light gold / champagne color is a perfect match for my creamy, blushy-red, birthmark covered weird skin.

Just because I dwell on things, here are my regrets (the dresses I never got to try on, usually because there are no places in Michigan that have them) or dresses that were too expensive or retired:

The elusive Farah Angsana gown

The mysterious Sposa by St. Pucchi Z234

One of many enchanting Vera Wang spring 2009 gowns

Blue by Enzoani gown called Belgium, picture via bestbridalprices

Blue by Enzoani dress Camden

The ultimate gown, Noel by Melissa Sweet

The most beautiful gown to ever exist, by Lazaro, but its retired.

4006 by Paloma Blanca, my dress's arch enemy / rival

Honestly, every single day I wonder if I made the right choice and I think about going back to try this Paloma Blanca gown on…on to try harder to hunt down the Lazaro gown, or have someone make it. But hey, why make things harder? I found a gown that looks good on me. I am happy with that. But, ah, if only I could have two, and make it a two day event!!

~ by cristinajanusz on November 20, 2009.

2 Responses to “Here’s my dress!”

  1. Where did you find and get to try on the dress you ended up on? I’ve been admiring it online for quite some time and I haven’t found any dress shops in the midwest that I can actually try it on. So far it’s only been a picture on my screen!

    • I bought it at Arena Bridal and tried it on at a place in Novi, MI. The dress is by Maggie Sottero called Rhianna Royale. Mine is a size 14 but I am a size 10 normally so they do run small. I believe they stopped producing it now.

Leave a Reply

 
